Reform Journal 2013

Reform is delighted to release its 2013 Journal “A better way”, to accompany our Party conference programme this year.

The Journal collects over fifty articles from leading opinion formers including Rt Hon Jeremy Hunt MP, Rt Hon Theresa May MP, Stephen Twigg MP, Lord Darzi, Norman Lamb MP, Damian Green MP, David Gauke MP, Matthew Hancock MP, Mark Hoban MP, Sir John Armitt, Rt Hon Sir Menzies Campbell CBE MP, and Amyas Morse. It will be distributed to policy makers at the Party conferences and in Whitehall and Westminster.

Its role is to stimulate debate on public service reform and economic growth at an important time in the political calendar, and to demonstrate the cross-party engagement in these ideas and our efforts.

Reform’s programme for 2013-14 will have three themes. First, the improvement of the institutions on which good government depends, including the Civil Service. Second, the possibilities of reducing the scope of the State in the light of not only tight public finances but also a more capable society. Third, the right organisation of the public sector, in particular the NHS. I hope that this programme will point to a better way for the UK in which a reformed government supports both a more productive economy and a society with greater opportunity and prosperity.

I look forward to involving you in what will be an exciting period for our work as the next General Election comes into view. Please do get in touch about the Journal and all aspects of Reform’s work.

With best regards

Andrew Haldenby

Journal chapters and authors


  • Dr Chris Gibson-Smith, Chairman of the Advisory Board, Reform
  • Andrew Haldenby, Director, Reform

The new NHS

  • Rt Hon Jeremy Hunt MP, Secretary of State for Health
  • Lord Hunt of King’s Heath OBE, Shadow Minister for Health
  • Lord Warner, Former Minister of State, Department of Health
  • Norman Lamb MP, Minister of State for Care and Support
  • Professor the Lord Darzi of Denham KBE, Chair, Institute of Global Health Innovation, Imperial College London
  • Stephen Collier, Group Chief Executive, BMI Healthcare
  • Harry Keenan, General Manager, Baxter
  • Thomas Thorp, Senior Director Corporate Affairs, Lilly
  • David Prior, Chairman, Care Quality Commission
  • Dr Shane Gordon, Clinical Chief Officer, North Essex NHS Clinical Commissioning Group
  • Cally Palmer CBE, Chief Executive, The Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust
  • Rebecca Wood, Chief Executive, Alzheimer’s Research UK

Bright future

  • George Freeman MP, PPS to Gregory Barker MP and Advisor on Life Sciences to David Willetts MP
  • Dr Neil Weir, Senior Vice President, Global Research, UCB
  • Crime Prevention
  • Rt Hon Theresa May MP, Home Secretary
  • Rt Hon Damian Green MP, Minister of State for Policing and Justice
  • Rupert Cazalet, Head of Public Affairs, Airwave
  • Rachael Byrne, Executive Director of Care and Justice Services, Home Group
  • John Shaw, Managing Director, Policing Support and Health, G4S

Growth manifesto

  • Sir John Armitt, Author, Labour Party review of infrastructure planning
  • Mark Hoban MP, Minister of State, Department for Work and Pensions
  • Amber Rudd MP, PPS to Rt Hon George Osborne MP
  • David Gauke MP, Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury
  • Malcolm Brown, Chief Executive, Angel Trains Ltd
  • Adrian Ringrose, Chief Executive Officer, Interserve

Insurance policy

  • Damian Hinds MP, Chair, APPG on Credit Unions
  • Huw Evans, Director of Operations, ABI
  • Richard Verdin, Protection Director, Aviva
  • Peter Tutton, Head of Policy, StepChange Debt Charity

Learning lessons

  • Stephen Twigg MP, Shadow Secretary of State for Education
  • Chris Skidmore MP, Member, Education Select Committee
  • Brian Lightman, General Secretary, Association of School and College Leaders
  • Rob Wall, Head of Education and Employment Policy, Confederation of British Industry

Strategic alliance

  • Rt Hon Sir Menzies Campbell CBE MP, Member of the Foreign Affairs Select Committee and former Leader of the Liberal Democrats
  • Richard Ottaway MP, Chair, Foreign Affairs Select Committee
  • Matthew Hancock MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Department for Education
  • Miles Celic, Director, Group Public Affairs and Policy, Prudential PLC
  • Martin Doel, Chief Executive, Association of Colleges
  • Simon Lebus, Group Chief Executive, Cambridge Assessment

The state of the State

  • Rt Hon Don Foster MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government
  • Amyas Morse, Comptroller and Auditor General, National Audit Office
  • Ian Ellis, Chairman, Telereal Trillium