Reform Annual Journal 2014

Reform is delighted to release its 2014 Journal “New Government 2015-20”, to accompany our Party conference programme this year.

The Journal collects over fifty articles from leading opinion formers including Rt Hon Francis Maude, David Gauke MP, Jack Dromey MP, Cathy Jamieson MP and Norman Lamb MP. It will be distributed to policy makers at the Party conferences and in Whitehall and Westminster.

Its role is to stimulate debate on public service reform and economic growth at an important time in the political calendar, and to demonstrate the cross-party engagement in these ideas and our efforts.
I look forward to involving you in what will be an exciting period for our work as the next General Election comes into view. Please do get in touch about the Journal and all aspects of Reform’s work.

With best regards

Andrew Haldenby

Please download a full copy of the journal here, or see below for the individual chapter sections.

To see a list of Reform’s 2014 events programme please follow this link

Journal chapters and authors


Rachel Byrne, Executive Director, Care & Support, Home Group
Stephen Collier, Group Chief Executive, BMI Healthcare
Paul Corrigan, Former Director of Strategy and Commissioning of the NHS London Strategic Health Authority
Rt Hon Stephen Dorrell MP, Former Secretary of State for Health
Peter Ellingworth, Chief Executive Officer, ABHI
Lord Hunt of King’s Heath OBE, Shadow Deputy Leader of the House Lords and Shadow Spokesperson for Health
Norman Lamb MP, Minister of State, Department of Health
Ali Parsa, Chief Executive Officer, Babylon Partners
Dr Emma Stanton, Chief Executive Officer, Beacon UK

New Retirement

David Gauke MP, Financial Secretary to the Treasury
Gregg McClymont MP, Shadow Pensions Minister
Ben Stafford, Head of Public Affairs, Just Retirement
Mark Astaire, Vice Chairman, Investment Banking, Barclays
Simon Collins, UK Chairman and Senior Partner, KPMG
Nicky Edwards, Director of Policy and Public Affairs, TheCityUK
Ted Hart, Head of Public Policy, Legal & General
Cathy Jamieson MP, Shadow Treasury Minister
Priti Patel MP, Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury
Lord Stevenson, Shadow Spokesperson, Business Innovation and Skills
Steve Waygood, Chief Responsible Investment Officer, Aviva

New State

Hon Bernard Jenkin MP, Chair, Public Adminsitration Select Committee
Keith Leslie, Partner, Organisation and change, Deloitte LLP
Lisa Nandy MP, Shadow Cabinet Office Minister

New Learning

Gillian Allcroft, Policy Manager, National Governors Association
Kevin Brennan MP, Shadow Education Minister
Clare Harbord, Corporate Affairs Director, Heathrow
Michael Izza, Chief Executive Officer, ICAEW
Brian Lightman, General Secretary, ASCL
Tony McAleavy, Research and Developement Director, CfBT Education Trust
Liam Nolan, Chief Executive Officer Perry Beeches Academy Trust
Simon Wright MP, Liberal Democrat Education Spokesperson

New Security

Richard Bobbett, Chief Executive Officer, Airwave
Jenny Chapman MP, Shadow Justice Minister
Jack Dromey MP, Shadow Minister for Home Affairs
Jean-Pierre Taillon, Regional Managing Directorm Central Government Services, G4S UK and Ireland

New Public Services

Jim Bligh, Head of Public Services, CBI
Simon Dukes, Chief Executive Officer, CIFAS
Rt Hon Francis Maude MP, Minister for the Cabinet Office and Paymaster General
Steve McGurik, Chief Executive Officer, Greater Manchester Fire and Rescue Service
Chi Onwurah MP, Shadow Cabinet Office Minister
Adrian Ringrose, Chief Executive, Interserve PLC
Tim Haywood, Group Finance Director and Head of Sustainability, Interserve PLC